notes

Keith Jarrett - The Koln Concert - Wednesday, Feb. 26, 2014
Shirley Horn - I Remember Miles - Monday, Feb. 24, 2014
old music - Friday, Feb. 21, 2014
Dizzy Gillespie-Sonny Stitt-Sonny Rollins - Sonny Side Up - Thursday, Feb. 20, 2014
Miles Davis - Live in Euorpe 1967 - Friday, Feb. 07, 2014

my guestbook

get your own me then now (roughly) my survey
Benefit For Bowie

get some - go again

Wednesday, Feb. 26, 2014 | 07:13

Keith Jarrett - The Koln Concert

now i'm listenting to keith jarrett. his solo piano recording 'the koln concert' was a revolution in 70's jazz (apparently) because it was fully improvised and free, but not fusion or abrasive. i've seen it hailed as a landmark and derided as simplistic. i've seen people praise his effortless improvisation and others complain about his singing (many pianists in the classical and jazz realms sing while they play, which often gets picked up on the mic; at points i thought maybe andre watts was humming the melody during some of his runs saturday night). as with many albums that divide critics, i see both sides and settle in the middle. it's very good, and definitely an album i'm happy to own, but his noises sometimes distract me. while i'm impressed with his playing i can't say i'm blown away, though his lyricism is persuasive.

useless information monkeys, flowers, and other weird things let the world know start today
Sign My Guestbook!
my survey

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email: