notes

old music - Friday, Feb. 21, 2014
Dizzy Gillespie-Sonny Stitt-Sonny Rollins - Sonny Side Up - Thursday, Feb. 20, 2014
Miles Davis - Live in Euorpe 1967 - Friday, Feb. 07, 2014
CDs 2014 (pt. 1) - Friday, Jan. 31, 2014
Jean-Yves Thibaudet - Satie: The Complete Solo Piano Music - Friday, Jan. 10, 2014

my guestbook

get your own me then now (roughly) my survey
Benefit For Bowie

get some - go again

Friday, Feb. 21, 2014 | 06:33

old music

my drive began with bjork singing "the modern things" live then went to a.f.i. i'm shuffling through my ipod so anything is fair game, though i can't always explain why certain songs are on there, like a.f.i. i forget they're not really a bad band, they just weren't where i wanted to go at the time. i think in retrospect they could have been an interesting path. it's funny sometimes to look back at groups of cds i have and remember when i got into them and how. i didn't realize it at the time, but i was in a scene as their time came, and this handful of bands made their names briefly. many of them are still around, but few retain that level of name recognition. my son wouldn't know thrice or thursday, though i think they're both still releasing music. he only knows at the drive-in because i've played it for him. dredg, piebald, etc.? not a chance.

but i don't follow these bands anymore either. i didn't stick with that sound, though lately i've wondered whether i was missing something. i can't remember where my head was at the time, musically, only that screamo and the like wasn't for me. now i want more rock in my life. always the sound in my head eludes me.

useless information monkeys, flowers, and other weird things let the world know start today
Sign My Guestbook!
my survey

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email: