notes

Wilco - Friday, Oct. 25, 2013
Where Have All The Flowers Gone: The Songs Of Pete Seeger - Monday, Oct. 14, 2013
W - Stephreadedredchild - The Remix Sessions - Friday, Oct. 04, 2013
Vampyros Lesbos - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2013
Utopian Diaries - Tuesday, Sept. 24, 2013

my guestbook

get your own me then now (roughly) my survey
Benefit For Bowie

get some - go again

Friday, Oct. 25, 2013 | 08:48

Wilco

yesterday's who (i had "the kids are alright" in my head this morning) has given way to wilco. i like them, too. i saw them at auditorium theater a few times in the early 2000's, once for 'yankee hotel foxtrot' and once for 'a ghost is born'. the latter show i was in the fifth row, having scored early in the fan club presale. both shows were excellent, but i think i preferred the first one. 10 years later it's hard to be sure. most of the lineup from the second show remains, but i think the first one had jay bennett. i think i preferred that group, though nels cline is pretty cool.

as for the albums, i'm pretty sure i got 'yht' after all the controversy then went back to 'being there' and 'summerteeth'. i loved the former but found the latter too slick and poppy. the music held me off and i didn't give it a chance. today, on my third listen to the album, i'm hearing the words, which paint a darker picture than i originally thought. this isn't an album for sleeping in a summer field, it's an album for drinking beer some night while reflecting at the ruin you've made of your life--and yes, you did this to yourself. your wife left because you beat her. you're alone because you're an obnoxious jerk, especially when you've been drinking. maybe that's the teeth aspect of the title.

after 'a ghost is born' the band re-visited their country roots and 'sky blue sky' came out like the eagles. that's not a bad thing, but the album has similar strengths and weaknesses to that band. the weaknesses (a certain blandness, or perhaps laziness) caused me to skip their follow up. i'm not sure why i went ahead and bought the one after that. i haven't heard 'the whole truth' yet. i got it when it came out and i haven't heard it yet. that's the chore of this collection adventure. i'm eager to end it so i can get on with my life. i'll be back in chicago before that happens. fittingly.

useless information monkeys, flowers, and other weird things let the world know start today
Sign My Guestbook!
my survey

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email: