notes

Where Have All The Flowers Gone: The Songs Of Pete Seeger - Monday, Oct. 14, 2013
W - Stephreadedredchild - The Remix Sessions - Friday, Oct. 04, 2013
Vampyros Lesbos - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2013
Utopian Diaries - Tuesday, Sept. 24, 2013
Underworld - Beaucoup singles - Thursday, Sept. 12, 2013

my guestbook

get your own me then now (roughly) my survey
Benefit For Bowie

get some - go again

Monday, Oct. 14, 2013 | 10:47

Where Have All The Flowers Gone: The Songs Of Pete Seeger

i'm listening now to renditions of pete seeger songs. it's the kind of music i feel i should have, but not quite the kind i spend much time with. folk music doesn't really speak to me, however real this is (unlike the more contrived-sounding batch of current "folk" artists). i feel guilty selling it, but i don't have a reason to keep it. in retrospect, this should have been how i introduced boy to music. i should have started him with something that mattered, something that said something (and is expertly written to boot). i also wish i'd pursued mroe of this sound, though it's significantly at odds with my usual musical taste. perhaps when i have electronic sounds out of my system i'll travel back to early folk like woody guthrie, pete seeger, bob dylan, joan baez, and earlier. or perhaps i'll keep this and revisit it now and then, whether as pilgrimmage or penance. i have no illusions that i'll ever make music that matters, and certainly not something that will endure as these songs have.

wait, you want me to review the recording? i'm not sure i'm in a good position to do that, not having a knowledge of folk music. i like the songs and the recordings are good--i can't say anthing here is weak, but i don't have the background to say whether the performers adequately capture the sentiments. i have not spent, and maybe will never spend, the time with this release it deserves. if you like folk music and you like the artists on this recording or you like pete seeger songs, get it. chances are if those things are true you already have it. it's probably not the place to start with folk or pete seeger, though i did.

useless information monkeys, flowers, and other weird things let the world know start today
Sign My Guestbook!
my survey

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email: