notes

Tortoise - millions now living will never die - Monday, Aug. 12, 2013
A t.A.t.U. remix (of sorts) and a desire to hear Blur - Tuesday, Aug. 06, 2013
Richard & Linda Thompson - Tuesday, Jul. 30, 2013
Nobukazu Takemura - Scope - Thursday, Jul. 11, 2013
Matthew Sweet - Girlfriend - Monday, Jul. 08, 2013

my guestbook

get your own me then now (roughly) my survey
Benefit For Bowie

get some - go again

Monday, Aug. 12, 2013 | 08:07

Tortoise - millions now living will never die

i have all the tortoise albums and a single but didn't bring their box set of b-sides and remixes ('a lazarus taxon') to work. that's ok, since it lets me get through all these cds in one day. my appreciation for 'millions now living will never die', and indeed i think many people's, is based almost solely on the opener "djed". the other songs are great too, but that one 20-minute song is everything tortoise set out to be, and is so perfect the greatness of the album rests on it. however, unlike, say, in-a-gadda-da-vida, the other songs hold up, making it a full album, and not just a single with some novelty tracks (in-a-gadda-da-vida is classic enough i keep the iron butterfly album despite the other songs being just ok).

useless information monkeys, flowers, and other weird things let the world know start today
Sign My Guestbook!
my survey

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email: