notes

Swans - Swans Are Dead - Wednesday, Dec. 03, 2014
Schema - Schema - Thursday, Nov. 20, 2014
Radiohead - TKOL RMX 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 - Tuesday, Nov. 18, 2014
Seal - Seal - Friday, Nov. 14, 2014
further thoughts on Pink Flag - Thursday, Nov. 13, 2014

my guestbook

get your own me then now (roughly) my survey
Benefit For Bowie

get some - go again

Wednesday, Dec. 03, 2014 | 13:16

Swans - Swans Are Dead

my introduction to Swans came through alternative press. it came in the form of a review of Soundtracks For The Blind. whatever ap said, it rang a bell with me and i ordered the album from some online store (i patronized several at the time, always looking for the lowest price with shipping). i was not disappointed.

not long after i bought Swans Are Dead, finding more fascinating sounds and a version of their live show i was sad to miss. it was clearly a harrowing show, primal yet somehow still cerebral. the album didn't hit quite as hard as Soundtracks For The Blind (which isn't to say it wasn't powerful), but it was as close as i'd get to experiencing the band in person. i needed it.

what's interesting to note, 17 years later, is how much more impressed i am now. having seen the resurrected version of the band i understand how powerful it can be. i can extrapolate these recordings into the audience experience.

which isn't to say i don't wish i'd known them earlier and gone to see them live. the current version is a different band, and i'm sad not to have experienced the jarboe years. her voice is wild, and i'd love to have seen how it came out of her.

useless information monkeys, flowers, and other weird things let the world know start today
Sign My Guestbook!
my survey

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email: