notes

Smashing Pumpkins - Gish - Tuesday, May. 06, 2014
Elvis Presley - The Complete '68 Comeback Special - Wednesday, Apr. 30, 2014
Pearl Jam - vs. & Vitalogy - Thursday, Apr. 17, 2014
Pink Floyd - The Piper At The Gates Of Dawn - Wednesday, Apr. 16, 2014
A.F.I. - Sing The Sorrow - Monday, Mar. 31, 2014

my guestbook

get your own me then now (roughly) my survey
Benefit For Bowie

get some - go again

Tuesday, May. 06, 2014 | 09:02

Smashing Pumpkins - Gish

i was ambivalent towards The Smashing Pumpkins. great riffs, great solos, some interesting lyrics, but they also felt very derivative. a lot of classic rock stuff i knew, like Pink Floyd and Led Aeppelin, showed up in Smashing Pumpkins songs. it wasn't as blatant as Oasis or "Silent Lucidity", but i couldn't fully embrace their music because i kept hearing other things. strangely, their success worked in their favor, as the omnipresence of the "Disarm" video brought me around to getting 'Siamese Dream'.

i liked the singles from 'Melon Collie', but the album has a lot of muddy, nondescript riffs that i wasn't ready for. that experience kept me from going further in either direction and i stuck with what i had: 'Siamese Dream' and the "Zero" single. i should have kept "Zero", but i sold it thinking i'd get the singles set. that, sadly, never happened.

i think i would have enjoyed 'Gish' then. it's very rock, and not at all grunge. good, if overblown and full of itself. which is another strange thing. i'm often drawn to self-indulgence in rock, be it weird or over the top, but that part of The Smashing Pumpkins repelled me. in other words, i reacted to their music opposite from how i reacted to Nirvana and Pearl Jam, getting into them at the start then not pursuing them, while it took me longer to get into the others but i stuck with them.

useless information monkeys, flowers, and other weird things let the world know start today
Sign My Guestbook!
my survey

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email: