notes

Pete Yorn - Suspicious Minds single - Monday, Dec. 02, 2013
"Weird Al" Yankovic - Even Worse - Friday, Nov. 22, 2013
xmas mixes (2010-2013) - Wednesday, Nov. 20, 2013
xmas mixes (2007-2009) - Tuesday, Nov. 19, 2013
xmas mixes (2003-2006) - Monday, Nov. 18, 2013

my guestbook

get your own me then now (roughly) my survey
Benefit For Bowie

get some - go again

Monday, Dec. 02, 2013 | 08:53

Pete Yorn - Suspicious Minds single

Suspicious Minds is one of my favorite songs of all time. Elvis set the standard, of course, but this Pete Yorn version is pretty good. I should say versions, as the single has a "Dusk" and "Dawn" version. The former is the more traditional, complete with false fade ending and return. The second is pared down and quieter, a more contemplative approach to the problem.

Neither of these holds a candle to The King, but Yorn gives them his best shot and turns out decent renditions. He doesn't tarnish a classic, which makes the single acceptable. His conviction makes it good, but this performance can't be heard in a vacuum and I can't deny it's been done better.

Were I in a band and I wanted to perform Suspicious Minds, I'd do it in concert and relegate it to the back end of a live release, if I ever let it go that far, but perhaps I'm too humble or too much in awe of Elvis to think I can compare.

useless information monkeys, flowers, and other weird things let the world know start today
Sign My Guestbook!
my survey

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email: