notes

The KLF - The White Room - Thursday, Sept. 27, 2012
The Orb Saved My Life - Monday, Sept. 10, 2012
Fire On Babylon - Wednesday, Aug. 29, 2012
N.W.A. - Straight Outta Compton - Tuesday, Aug. 28, 2012
the flaming lips and heady fwends or, the freaks are slowly taking over - Thursday, Jul. 19, 2012

my guestbook

get your own me then now (roughly) my survey
Benefit For Bowie

get some - go again

Friday, May. 21, 2004 | 08:41

pelican - beans - tortoise @ metro 5/20/2004

pelican blew me away. i have to say, that was pretty amazing. i think i prefer sun0))), but the bands are very different. pelican is more instrumental metal while sun0))) is droning meditation music. that was awesome.

beans is a nut. he dances freaky. about five of us liked him. some guy tried to heckle him, but beans called him out and asked him to spit rhyme. not happening. the problem was, with the reverb on beans became unintelligible, he didn't actually play any instruments, and a lot of people just didn't get it. the guy next to me kept saying he's got a good flow but nothing to say. he didn't even like booga sugah. i think this guy was on his own booga sugah, but oh well.

then tortoise put on a drum clinic, with three guys rotating through two drum kits placed front and center facing each other. it's fun trying to watch two drummers play at the same time. they also had vibes, a glock, bass, guitar, synths, melodica and their powerbooks running the show. it got a little wanky at times, but the groove was pretty tight and their vibe interplay brilliant. i didn't know enough of the songs to know what was written and what improvised. bits of the encore seemed to get off track. still, they played djed, which was cool.

useless information monkeys, flowers, and other weird things let the world know start today
Sign My Guestbook!
my survey

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email: