notes

The KLF - The White Room - Thursday, Sept. 27, 2012
The Orb Saved My Life - Monday, Sept. 10, 2012
Fire On Babylon - Wednesday, Aug. 29, 2012
N.W.A. - Straight Outta Compton - Tuesday, Aug. 28, 2012
the flaming lips and heady fwends or, the freaks are slowly taking over - Thursday, Jul. 19, 2012

my guestbook

get your own me then now (roughly) my survey
Benefit For Bowie

get some - go again

Sunday, Aug. 15, 2004 | 20:49

The Dillinger Escape Plan - Miss Machine

when Mike Patton teamed up with The Dillinger Escape Plan a few years ago (after their singer left, for whatever reason) i got the resultant ep because i'm a Mike Patton freak. the resultant sounds blew me away. i couldn't really conceive of a better fit for his voice, though both Tomahawk. and Fantomas fit perfectly too. i hadn't heard DEP on their own, so i had no idea of what they would soundlike later when they finally released their second album. wow. i thought the collaboration blew me away, but this is incredible.

not many bands can make hardcore radio friendly. not many bands can make hardcore accessible. not many bands can make hardcore that devastates yet pulls up a chair and invites you to sit and watch. not many bands play hardcore then throw in jazz and dance influences. even fewer bands do all this at once, on the same album. simply put, Miss Machine sounds like a Tomahawk. album without Patton's vocal feakouts and with fewer quiet moments. This album pounds its vision into you, but you don't mind because it sounds so goddamn good.

ultimately i think amg gets the review right this time, and there isn't much for me to add. Miss Machine is a briliant album, one of the best hardcore albums of all time (though it's way too good to be considered hardcore). this goes on my 2004 top ten. in the top five, definitely.

useless information monkeys, flowers, and other weird things let the world know start today
Sign My Guestbook!
my survey

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email: