notes

CDs 2014 (pt. 1) - Friday, Jan. 31, 2014
Jean-Yves Thibaudet - Satie: The Complete Solo Piano Music - Friday, Jan. 10, 2014
Anthony Burr / Charles Curtis - Alvin Lucier - Friday, Dec. 13, 2013
Pete Yorn - Suspicious Minds single - Monday, Dec. 02, 2013
"Weird Al" Yankovic - Even Worse - Friday, Nov. 22, 2013

my guestbook

get your own me then now (roughly) my survey
Benefit For Bowie

get some - go again

Friday, Jan. 31, 2014 | 08:48

CDs 2014 (pt. 1)

i wasn't going to mention this, but since i've broken it i suppose it's not a big deal. i quasi-resolved at the start of the year not to buy any cds in 2014. i didn't make it a formal resolution because i expected someone would release something i'd feel i just had to have. already i've passed up the new mogwai and peter buck's second vinyl-only album (i got the first a couple years ago, but of course i haven't heard it), and probably other things i'd like to have. while listening to peter brotzmann yesterday i remembered he had another release i really wanted: the complete machine gun sessions. i went to amazon to put it in my wishlist for 2015 and found it was out of print -- it's being offered for over $100 new, and quite a lot used, too much for me. i looked around the internet and discovered the label that issued it, atavistic, would allow me to order a copy despite its website saying it was sold out. we'll see if i actually get one, but given the second hand pricing i thought it was worth breaking my quasi-resolution for this release.

i lasted 30 days, which is pretty good for me. now my goal is to make it through february without buying a cd. i have to save money and i don't have the room. given that my average last year was five or six a month i think i'm in good shape.

useless information monkeys, flowers, and other weird things let the world know start today
Sign My Guestbook!
my survey

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email: