notes

The KLF - The White Room - Thursday, Sept. 27, 2012
The Orb Saved My Life - Monday, Sept. 10, 2012
Fire On Babylon - Wednesday, Aug. 29, 2012
N.W.A. - Straight Outta Compton - Tuesday, Aug. 28, 2012
the flaming lips and heady fwends or, the freaks are slowly taking over - Thursday, Jul. 19, 2012

my guestbook

get your own me then now (roughly) my survey
Benefit For Bowie

get some - go again

2003-03-17 | 8:38 p.m.

substitution

saturday i wanted to see a folk singer in chicago who went on stage at 7pm, but at that time i was in indianapolis preparing to see the indianapolis symphony orchestra perform works by prokofiev (classical symphony, op. 25), kernis (lament and prayer for violin, small ensemble, and strings) featuring yumi hwang-williams on violin, and mendelssohn (symphony no.5 in d major, op. 107 ("reformation")). i don't know that i like mendelssohn a whole lot--not too keen on the germanic pomp, i guess--and the prokofiev seemed a little out of place with its chipper melodies, but the kernis was powerfully moving. the audience was surprisingly (and disappointingly) sparse, but probably that was due to a combination of warm weather and indiana university's mens basketball team playing on tv. a good night to go to the local bar, watch a disappointing game, and stagger home drunk without worrying about forgetting one't coat.

i have to write a paper for my class, about copyright law, but i'll try to let elgar and debussey keep playing behind me. no, now it's ralph vaughn williams' "the lark ascending". i think music comes closest to capturing beauty. truth. everything.

2003-03-13 | 6:45 p.m.

tonight.

oh, and another thing. i'm taking guitar lessons. had one tonight. usually something happens to me on the way and i write about it somewhere, but not tonight. nothing at all music-related, at least. just walked to guitar, had my lesson, then drove home playing the crystal method's first album, um, vegas. right now underworld's second toughest in the infants is playing. 'the ones that suck it up'. it's a great album. i want to make music like that.

2003-03-13 | 4:30 p.m.

test rest best fest

this is a test, of sorts. a follow-up? basically, i want to see if the weblog style works for me. oh, and i hope you like my new diaryland music journal. those of you who know my others, well, look out. those of you new to me, look out even more.

2003-03-13 | 4:18 p.m.

the beginning

welcome to dj a's musical chairs. i've decided to put up this page to track my experiences in the music world i'll write about recent cd purchases, recent concert attendances, and any other music-related events in my life. in the three categories below i'll list some of my most recent sights and sounds.

tuesday nights i have a class on the art and business of recording. i'll try to have updates posted here the next day about how that is going. our teacher is kimo williams, who runs a big band jazz rock group that plays music i wouldn't listen to but someone should. hey, gary sinise plays bass sometimes. that's something.

something indeed.

useless information monkeys, flowers, and other weird things let the world know start today
Sign My Guestbook!
my survey

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email: