notes

roni size/reprazent - new forms - Tuesday, Mar. 26, 2013
wave of light by wave of light - Wednesday, Feb. 27, 2013
tides of tomorrow - Thursday, Feb. 14, 2013
liar - Thursday, Feb. 14, 2013
The KLF - The White Room - Thursday, Sept. 27, 2012

my guestbook

get your own me then now (roughly) my survey
Benefit For Bowie

get some - go again

Thursday, Feb. 14, 2013 | 08:35

tides of tomorrow

'tides of tomorrow' is every bit as great as i remembered it (i have it on vinyl). cave in released that ep after 'jupiter' and before they jumped to a major (for one ill-fated, but very good, album). it expands the spacey side of 'jupiter' and furthers cleaner, less screaming, direction. when 'antenna' tanked and the label dropped them they drifted back to their hardcore sound, though still with singing and melody. then they disappeared. i don't have their comeback album 'white silence' yet, but i should get on that. what i really want is their fanclub-only bootleg cd that has a cover of "dazed and confused" on it. it also has a great version of codeine's "cave in". (they also released a vinyl-only covers album that includes "plainsong". i'd love to hear that.

Thursday, Feb. 14, 2013 | 06:49

liar

what henry rollins lacks in lyrical subtlety and vocal melodicism, his band makes up for with interesting playing. at least sometimes. is it enough to keep? i don't know.

the end of 'a bigger bang' started skipping, and i for some reason remembered sitting at my parents' kitchen table when i last lived there doing stuff on my laptop and listening to music on the cd player. it would cut off at about 74 minutes even if the disc ran longer. i remember shostakovic ending mid-note and being very concerned that i'd just purchased a box set of his music with damaged discs. that's when i learned about the cd player's shortcomings. thinking about this today made me look forward to when i get to my classical music, and when i get to my box sets. we'll probably be back in chicago by then, if this is still going. that seems kind of sad to me.

useless information monkeys, flowers, and other weird things let the world know start today
Sign My Guestbook!
my survey

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email: