notes

Esperanza Spalding - Radio Music Society - Monday, Mar. 24, 2014
Charlie Parker - At Storyville / Ken Burns Jazz - Thursday, Mar. 13, 2014
Wes Montgomery - Fingerpickin' and Smokin' At The Half Note - Wednesday, Mar. 12, 2014
Keith Jarrett - The Koln Concert - Wednesday, Feb. 26, 2014
Shirley Horn - I Remember Miles - Monday, Feb. 24, 2014

my guestbook

get your own me then now (roughly) my survey
Benefit For Bowie

get some - go again

Monday, Mar. 24, 2014 | 06:24

Esperanza Spalding - Radio Music Society

esperanza spalding was a rising jazz star when she won the best new artist grammy. it's not an undeserved award, but her last album was less jazz and more r&b and pop. that's not a bad thing in and of itself, though i tend to be less interested in jazz musicians who go pop than i am those who explore jazz inside the idiom. not like wynton marsalis, who is a virtuosic traditionalist, but more like, well, i don't know who the current example would be. ken vandermark, perhaps. i really don't know.

as for spalding's music, well, r&b and neo-soul are not really my idiom. i dig badu, but beyond her i have trouble feeling included. no, that's not a fair statement. jazz isn't my idiom, how can i relate to it?, but i love jazz. especially the fifties and sixties, bop, post-bop, free, and early fusion. so maybe i just don't like it. no clear reason, and that should be ok. when spalding stays with jazz, even the more fusion end of her jazz, i much prefer it. her production is a little slicker than i'd like, and her recordings could stretch more. i'll hold off on her next release until i know how it sounds. i want more jazz from her, more music. press record and see where it goes.

useless information monkeys, flowers, and other weird things let the world know start today
Sign My Guestbook!
my survey

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email: