notes

snoop dogg at the forefront - Friday, Apr. 12, 2013
peaceful, easy feelings - Thursday, Apr. 04, 2013
roni size/reprazent - new forms - Tuesday, Mar. 26, 2013
wave of light by wave of light - Wednesday, Feb. 27, 2013
tides of tomorrow - Thursday, Feb. 14, 2013

my guestbook

get your own me then now (roughly) my survey
Benefit For Bowie

get some - go again

Friday, Apr. 12, 2013 | 06:21

snoop dogg at the forefront

i once read an interview with john cale wherein he praised rap as bringing the avant garde to the masses. he cited "drop it like it's hot", which is playing in my earbuds right now. the chorus is a kick and a snare, and the verses add mouth clicks and a panned vocal/whistle and the occasional keyboard stab. that's not pop music, but it's a great song and it made a splash when it came out.

the song that follows it on 'rhythm & gangsta' has a wobbly bass line--dubstep was just forming in 2004. who the hell put that together? the liner notes says it was produced by josef leimberg, but that doesn't help. he's a california-based underground hip-hop producer, not an early dubstep innovator. this album is something else.

useless information monkeys, flowers, and other weird things let the world know start today
Sign My Guestbook!
my survey

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email: