notes

roni size/reprazent - new forms - Tuesday, Mar. 26, 2013
wave of light by wave of light - Wednesday, Feb. 27, 2013
tides of tomorrow - Thursday, Feb. 14, 2013
liar - Thursday, Feb. 14, 2013
The KLF - The White Room - Thursday, Sept. 27, 2012

my guestbook

get your own me then now (roughly) my survey
Benefit For Bowie

get some - go again

Sunday, Oct. 17, 2010 | 15:07

Scanner - Remix Mouse On Mars (subnubus: a liminal approach)

I made a two-disc mix of songs that have made me who I am. Over the next few weeks (months) I will attempt to explain each of these songs. I am quite sure I haven't covered every song that matters to me, but I have wedged most of them onto these two CDs.

Another song that may or may not be out of order on the mix. I tried to arrange them in the order of when they influenced me, meaning when I remember them taking effect on my life. I think now that this may have fit in earlier, before Piku. I think I read a review in Alternative Press then ordered it from CDConnection as part of my periodic bank account reduction strategy.

This song is a stand-in for the entire release: "Double Articulation > Another Plateau", which is is a remix album of "Folds and Rhizomes for Gilles Deleuze". The original disc may be better, but I got the remix disc first so it held more meaning for me.

Essentially, this track is a mellow re-configuration of a mostly static drone piece from Mouse On Mars. Scanner has added a beat, some other rhythmic noises, and a voice speaking numbers. Listening to it now, the track doesn't seem like much.

On the other hand, this disc was my true entry point to experimental electronic music. Oh, I had Oval's "Systemisch" already, and it's pretty cool, but this was my introduction to artists such as Scanner, Mouse On Mars, and Main. As with most songs on these mixes, it was a different world for me to discover. In the end, though, I chose this one because it fit. It is the shortest remix on the disc and I simply didn't have room for an 8+ minute track much less a 10-minute track.

useless information monkeys, flowers, and other weird things let the world know start today
Sign My Guestbook!
my survey

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email: