notes

The KLF - The White Room - Thursday, Sept. 27, 2012
The Orb Saved My Life - Monday, Sept. 10, 2012
Fire On Babylon - Wednesday, Aug. 29, 2012
N.W.A. - Straight Outta Compton - Tuesday, Aug. 28, 2012
the flaming lips and heady fwends or, the freaks are slowly taking over - Thursday, Jul. 19, 2012

my guestbook

get your own me then now (roughly) my survey
Benefit For Bowie

get some - go again

Wednesday, Nov. 02, 2005 | 10:41

bmg just in time

man oh man, i save the best for last.

yes, it was maybe probably something of a mistake to put buddy holly between cynic and yes, as their styles totally overwhelm the simple rock-ness of holly's wonderful music, but at the same time it was an interesting swing from the relatively modern, back to the origins, then to something in between. rock has come a long, long way since buddy holly, but his music still resounds as impressively as ever. i do own some bad cds, and i even cling to a few of them for semi-sentimental reasons (ahem, a spice girls cd my sister gave me to cheer me up), but nothing i heard yesterday was anything less than cool. the coleman threw me for a loop, and i'm not sure whether it's because i don't have my head around it yet or if something's missing in the jazz-orchestra format. lila downs is a great discovery, both witty and talented. the traffic album, which i listed for monday but didn't actually get to hear until yesterday, is subtly amazing. not as obviously awesome as john barleycorn must die, it still has the same feel of adventure and calm without ever sounding bored or watered-down. as for neil young, well, i'd like a cinnamon girl too.

today i'm listening to five dave brubeck albums, compiled in a box called for all time. the box itself is just a grey box with his name and the title on it, then the five cd cases slide in. they're the same cases you'd get in stores, but in this case i probably got the whole set for less than i would otherwise. now, i might not have bought all five at once, but time out is definitely worth the purchase price alone. add to that time further out, countdown: time in outer space, time changes, and time in, and you have a mystifying array of time signatures and fabulous jazz performances. basically, these four guys put out five albums of top-notch jazz and all you know about it is the song take five. get these albums and hear what you're missing.

useless information monkeys, flowers, and other weird things let the world know start today
Sign My Guestbook!
my survey

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email: