notes

The KLF - The White Room - Thursday, Sept. 27, 2012
The Orb Saved My Life - Monday, Sept. 10, 2012
Fire On Babylon - Wednesday, Aug. 29, 2012
N.W.A. - Straight Outta Compton - Tuesday, Aug. 28, 2012
the flaming lips and heady fwends or, the freaks are slowly taking over - Thursday, Jul. 19, 2012

my guestbook

get your own me then now (roughly) my survey
Benefit For Bowie

get some - go again

Wednesday, Feb. 11, 2004 | 13:26

beth gibbons - out of season

'out of season' is not portishead. for starters, it seems to be all live instruments. also, beth gibbons' singing is more natural and less affected than on portishead albums. because the music is more organic and less beat-oriented, she gets to ebb and flow and play with the rhythm. that's a change. i hope the next portishead album, should there ever be one, takes into account this approach. i also like the way the production incorporates a lot of ambient noise, like the internal shifting of a piano during 'show', or something i can't place that makes the album feel as though one is part of a live studio audience. it's weird, i can almost picture the 60's-style television set where we'd sit and watch her perform. the strings would be hidden away some place, and the band just off to the side so you'd focus on ms. gibbons, which is exactly what the tv camera would do.

useless information monkeys, flowers, and other weird things let the world know start today
Sign My Guestbook!
my survey

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email: